Gordon McNeill continues his hunger strike

On day 10 without food he is suffering serious medical complications

 

The sacked airport shop stewards who have been occupying the balcony at Transport House have suspended their public protesting activities to allow talks to take place on the outstanding issue of compensation.

 

Gordon McNeill remains on hunger strike and will resume the public protest if the issue is not resolved. Gordon is suffering heart and other medical problems and is very weak. He is ignoring medical advice in continuing with his fast.

 

Gordon today said:

 

“I made clear at the beginning of my hunger strike that I would not come off it until I was satisfied that the three issues of dispute between ourselves and the leadership of Unite were fully resolved. I have no intention of stopping now only to find I have to restart a new hunger strike in a few weeks time.

 

“The union have asked us to suspend our rooftop protest, and all other public protests, to allow some time for negotiation. We have complied with this. When they make a proper offer on compensation that is not tied up in strings and conditions, I will end the hunger strike and not before. I am determined one way or another that this will be the last time I have to protest on this.” 




    Leave a comment